Skip to content

Bella Italia

September 17, 2011

I finally feel like I’m in Italy. After a bit of a rough start that wasn’t just a rough start but a bad fit, I listened to my gut and left my first farm. But not before securing another farm nearby. Oh boy, I feel like I hit the lotto with this new place. It’s almost outrageous how good it is. My host is Anna, a proper Italian mamma, who makes sure you eat too much at every meal, saying, “Ania, mangia! mangia!” And the food is so good. I’m in Reggia-Emilia where prosciutto and Parmigiano Reggiano rule.  We eat Parmigiano-Reggiano with every meal. Prosciutto is served with almost every meal. Anna is generous and gracious and really takes care of you and all that kindness and positivity is infused in her food, making it more than delicious. For our lunches,  we’ve had homemade tortelli (we know them as ravioli), beautiful pasta stuffed with ricotta, spinach and Parmigiano Reggiano. Tossed in butter. Then you can add an intense, roasted tomato and pancetta sauce. There’s more pasta with that same fabulous sauce.  Chicken with lemon that is so savoury and flavourful. To start the meal, there’s prosciutto and fragrant melon.  All meals are eaten outside. And always with wine.  And lunch break is two hours.  Before this, my lunches were hurried gobble gobbles at my work desk, trying to eat as fast as possible while trying not to get too many crumbs into my keyboard. I never want to do that again.  Things are looking up. Viva Italia!

Leave a Reply

