Skip to content

Moving On (kind of)

April 1, 2012

The Catania, Sicilia post will be the last in the line of Only Italy All the Time posts on Food Anthology. I didn’t realize until just now, when I counted on my fingers, how many months it’s been since when I started writing about Only Italy All the Time. It’s been six months (six months!?!!) that I’ve been thinking and daydreaming, experiencing and reliving and talking about my Italian adventure.  I’m not just moving on for you but for myself, too. The list of  recipes and ideas, that have nothing to do with my trip, that I’ve been dying to make and explore, eat and share has been growing and growing.

Italy isn’t disappearing entirely. That’s what I mean by moving on (kind of). The travel stories will come to an end but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to share the dishes that I learned from all the amazing Italians I met. They’re just going to be mixed in with the usual (but still fabulous) inspired food stories on Food Anthology.  I just need to fine tune my new Italian recipes by making them over and over and over again. Like, why don’t those sambuca-laced rice fritters scented with orange and lemon and studded with sultanas turn out the way I remember them? Oh, did I mention that they’re dusted with cinnamon sugar, too?  Or figuring out the right proportions for  the fresh spinach tagliatelle with gorgonzola, marscarpone and toasted walnuts. Or getting that Sicilian cannolo to taste like I’m back in Sicily. Is that even possible?  And there are other stories I want to tell, stories about Sticky Toffee Pudding and Clam Chowder and Nachos (and so much more) that you’ll love just as much.  So, let’s not dawdle anymore. We have a lot of eating and talking to do.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 1, 2012 7:29 pm

    I will miss the Italy posts but yet, am excited to veer off the not-too-beaten path! Exciting. Bring on the Sticky Toffee Clam Chowder.

Leave a Reply

