Skip to content

Contribution of a Quality Snack Item is Always Appreciated

June 23, 2012

Contribution of a quality snack item is always appreciated. This gentle request was at the bottom of an invitation to partake in a ping pong tournament this evening. The invite also listed some of the rules of the tournament. This one made me laugh: If someone leaves early or is incapacitated by alcohol, their opponent advances.  This was listed as a ‘new rule’ for this year. As this is my first year attending the tournament, I can only imagine the circumstances from last year that contributed to enacting the ‘incapacitated by alcohol’ rule.

It took me two seconds to think of the Quality Snack I was going to bring to the party – Spinach Dip. This recipe was handed to me by my boyfriend’s mom, who got it from the fine folks at Knorr. This is not a secret recipe by any means but it was completely new to me (was I under a rock?) until I had it at her house. I’ve made it so many times now that people ask me if I’m bringing my spinach dip to the party. I even have the recipe memorized down to the measurements. It’s not that hard really, the ingredients are a package of this, a can of that, and a cup of this.  Obviously this isn’t highbrow food with those types of ingredients but even your fancy friends will be digging in fast when this is served.

The recipe below is double the original one. I always make double since one recipe portion seems too stingy for a party and I like to set aside a little bowl of it for myself to enjoy the next day.

This dip is usually shown served in a carved out pumpernickel bread bowl, like some vessel from feudal times. I’ve seen it like that at parties, too. But I’ve also wondered what happens to the bread bowl at the end when all the spinach dip is gone? Do people tear apart the bowl feral-like and eat hunks of spinach dip soaked pumpernickel bread? That seems like something to be done at home in total privacy.

I prefer to serve it with Triscuits.  It’s also good on toast for breakfast. Or just eaten with a spoon straight from the dip bowl.

Spinach Dip
Slightly adapted from the official Knorr recipe*

2 10 oz. packages frozen chopped spinach
2 8 oz. cans water chestnuts
2 packages Knorr Vegetable Soup Mix
1 bunch green onions (about 6-8 stalks)
1 cup mayonnaise
1 ¼ cup sour cream

Defrost the spinach and squeeze out all of the excess water. Don’t skimp out on squeezing the spinach dry. You will have a runny dip if you don’t. Place the spinach into a large bowl big enough to mix everything together comfortably. Since you’ve squeezed the spinach and it’s likely in compressed clumps, I would recommend just tearing those clumps apart so it’s easier to mix the dip later.

Chop the water chestnuts into smallish size pieces and add to the spinach. Chop the green onions finely and add to the spinach as well. Rip open the packages of dried soup mix and toss them in. Add the mayo and sour cream. Stir well until everything is combined and evenly incorporated. You’ll need to wait two hours before the dip is ready. The dried soup ingredients need to soak in that moisture from the mayo and sour cream for the dip to taste good.

Party on.

*The quantity of sour cream and mayonnaise that I use is half of what Knorr recommends. This was a tip from my boyfriend’s mom. Trust me, you don’t need the original amounts of mayo and sour cream. Your dip would be drowning in the creamy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

