Skip to content

Who needs ice cream when you can have beets!

July 17, 2012
tags: ,

The first paragraph mentions ice cream and frozen treats.
And then this is a picture of beets. What is going on?

It’s a blazing hot summer. My diet has consisted of a regular stream of ice cream sandwiches to keep me cool. I’m eating one right now, trying not to sully my keyboard.  Ice cream and other frozen concoctions have been catching my eye in my favourite food mags and blogs. So, why not try to make my own frozen delights? I printed out two recipes (one more involved and one super easy) and hung them on the fridge (my new trick to remember to make things I want to make). I bought everything I needed, cleared my schedule and my freezer. This is where you come in. I was going to write these amazing posts and tell some really funny, charming stories that you were going to love. You’d be reading these posts, thinking ”Oh that Ania. I love her stories and this looks so delicious. She’s the best.” Happily ever after.

By now you know that these recipes never materialized on this blog. Let’s just say I got a little bit too ahead of myself thinking how amazing it all would be. These recipes were failures. Failure is fodder, my friend Cal tells me. But not these. These were not spectacular failures – that at least would be something to talk about – just mediocre ones, somewhere south of ‘meh’ but north of total disaster. I was grumbling to my friend Rowena about my failures and spending all that time and not having anything to write about. My grumbling came off as, even to my own ears, a whiny excuse why there was no new post in a while.  Rowena didn’t mince words. She nods her head, listening to me, and then politely cuts me off:  “Why don’t you post that beet and dill salad? I had it written down on a post it note from you and then I lost it. I really want to make it again.” Even though this was officially a request, it didn’t leave much room for negotiation.  So, for Rowena, here’s the beet salad recipe. I’m sorry you lost your post-it note. We’re good, right?

Grated Raw Beet Salad with Fresh Dill and Mustard Vinaigrette
From Farmer John’s Cookbook The Real Dirt on Vegetables
By Farmer John Peterson and Angelic Organics (Gibbs Smith, 2006)

The beauty of this salad is that you don’t have to cook the beets. No hot oven, no boiling water. I guess you can call it Beet the Heat salad. Har har.

4 medium beets
1 clove garlic
1 shallot
½ cup olive oil
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 good handful of fresh dill

Peel the beets and grate them coarsely into a large bowl. Mince the shallot and the garlic. In a jar with a screw tight lid, combine the minced shallot and garlic with the olive oil, white wine vinegar, and Dijon mustard. Shake the jar vigorously until the mixture is thickened and resembles a vinaigrette.

Pour the dressing over the beets and toss until well coated.  Season the salad with salt and pepper. Cover the salad bowl with plastic wrap and pop it into the fridge. The grated beets need to marinate in the dressing for at least an hour. When you’re ready to serve, chop the dill and toss it in the beet salad.

This salad keeps in the fridge for 3 days at my last count. It didn’t go bad at that point. That’s just the longest I’ve gone without finishing it off. Anyway, it keeps in the fridge and even tastes better on the second day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 7:58 am

    This looks so delicious!!! Going to try it out tonight…

  2. Meghan permalink
    July 18, 2012 1:17 pm

    This sounds great! Any tips for grating beets without staining everything?

    • July 18, 2012 1:47 pm

      be careful? haha! Deep big bowl to catch all of the flying beet debris as best as possible. Your hands will be pink for a while but usually goes away after a few hand washes. I find fuschia coloured hands charming, though. 🙂

  3. rob permalink
    October 4, 2012 12:01 pm

    I’m going to make this on the weekend…it better be good!

  4. Nancy permalink
    June 16, 2013 4:45 pm

    Sounds great– I am making it this evening — Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

